The store is gearing up for the big sale starting Wednesday. So what am I doing while I patiently wait? I am knitting of course (I eed to make room for some new yarn). Specifically, I am knitting out of this new book:

2atatimebk

2-at-a-time Socks by Melissa Morgan-Oakes teaches you (well in the this case me!) how to knit two socks at the same time on one long circular needle. People, this book has converted me to a joyful, if not yet rabid, sock knitter.

Look! I am almost done with theses lovely socks out of Koigu.

belleepoque

I have been knitting for a couple of years and have just not been bitten by the sock bug. I think I liked the idea of knitting socks more than actually doing it.  I admit, my first pair of hand knit socks was a revelation in comfort. I had never had socks that really fit my feet before and it was wonderful. But there was that second sock thing that I just couldn’t get over. I knit a couple of  pairs, but I just figured socks were not going to be my thing.

But the feeling of the socks I had knit and the beautiful patterns available had me wishing I liked knitting them more. Knitting 2 at at time with 2 circulars didn’t interest me. Call me cheap, but I just didn’t want to buy two pair of the same size needles for one project. I knew of magic loop, but had not tried it and thought that if there were a way to do two socks on one magic loop, well that would be perfect. I would try socks again if that were possible.

Ask and you shall receive. Just a few days after beginning to look for a way to knit 2 socks on one needle, I found this book. Yeah! I am having so much fun.

The first part of the book Melissa has you learning the technique on two toddler size socks and a larger size yarn and needle. This is a great way to learn. The socks are fast and you get to learn all the basics. The book is spiral bound! Really, publishers should make more books with spiral binding. I didn’t have to fiddle with the book while I was fiddling with a new knitting technique. There are also lots of cute sock patterns so you can try out your new skills. Once you get the idea, she says you can convert any sock pattern to this way of knitting. For now I am eyeing Sugar Maple or Coquette for my next pair.

It is recommends that you be pretty comfortable with knitting socks and be familiar sock structure. I would agree. It is not for the new and faint of heart knitter. However, never underestimate the power of an adventurous spirit, or in my case stubbornness, to overcome lack of experience! I would definitely consider myself a novice at socks but after a few false starts I got the hang of it and am having a blast.

Now some bad news. I am absolutely recommending this book, it is transforming my relationship to socks, but I do need to warn you that there are some errors. Unfortunately one of them comes in the technique section. It was frustrating, but I figured it out. I imagine if you know socks well you would not have been as stumped as I was. The answer was simple and was what it made sense to do. But still, it is bothersome. There is errata posted on the publisher’s site and I know that Melissa is working at having them on her personal site as well. Also, if you happen to be on Raverly, there is a group for the book and Melissa is very active and helpful in answering questions. I would hate to see people pass up a good book because of silly mistakes.

Why knitting patterns so often have many errors, that is a discussion for another time. Preferably with something alcoholic to easy the pain of it all. For now, if you like new techniques, wish you enjoyed sock knitting more or just want to impress your friends with yet more fancy needle tricks, check out 2-at-a-time Socks!

