Spring is just a few days away and most of us are ready to move onto some colorful, light spring time knitting. So a new book on knitting mittens, those staples of cold weather, may not be on your radar. Well, let me just say, Knitting New Mittens & Gloves by Robin Melanson is to good and too innovative to wait until the chill of next fall comes around.

On the cover are the Filigree Fingerless Gloves, perfect for spring and so pretty.

knittingnewmittens

I really, really like the shorter version.

filigreemitts

In all there are 28 patterns offering quite a bit of variety and  spark to the humble hand covering. Some of my favorites are Blackthorn

blackthorn

Negative Space

negativespace

and Poppy

newmittensbkcover

There is sure to be something in here for just about everyone. Bridging traditional shapes and techniques with modern and innovative styling and twists, Melanson does a wonderful job of bringing a new eye and sensibility to hand and arm coverings.

The book is beautifully photographed and styled, a joy to sit with and plan future projects. I have two wishes though. I found the text size smaller than I am use to in knitting books. Design wise it is lovely, and lends a tranquil sophistication to the layout, but slightly bigger text would make it a bit more user friendly. Especially for those of us with eyes “of a certain age.” I also wish the book would lie open flat. I’m really going to have to crack the spine on this one to even have a hope of it staying open as I work. These are small quibbles though, especially considering the beauty of the patterns.

Over all a great book and one I am sure is going to get a lot of use! Definitely check it out.

