Finally things have cooled down here in Northern California and we actually have some rain today. Very needed. Definitely one of those days, kind of drizzly and gray, that is good for knitting and daydreaming about knitting. You know the kind of daydreams where you have unlimited time, your hands never get tired and you can knit just as fast as your imagination can vision new projects!

I have such an itch to start something new, even though I have so much all ready started. Inspiration just has no respect for works in progress!

Here is picture of just some the places my attention is being pulled.

There are new books. Mason-Dixon Knitting Outside the Lines, by Kay Gardiner and Ann Shayne, Boutique Knits by Laura Irwin and Alterknits Felt by Leigh Radford. All great day dreaming material, but maybe not so good for getting things off of the needles. But then again, if knitting were only about practicality, efficiency and determination where would the fun be?

The yarn. Yummm. Alchemy Monarch in the color Fig. Cashmere and silk, fingering weight, soft, luscious, mysterious, begging to be gloves? Hat? Cowl?

Jade Sapphire Cashmere in Tea Leaves. Soft, soft, soft, comforting, sophisticated cozy, the color almost translucent. (Really, you have see in person. The camera just can not capture this, at least not my camera). Is this destined to be a scarf, cowl, mittens? I think I’m noticing a trend here.

Tanglewood Fiber Creations Yak and Merino in Marble. Well, words just fail me with Trish’s yarn. It may be too special for a project since I can not decide what to do with it. But that is ok, because the pleasure from just petting it in the skein is quite something all on its own.

Nashua Creative Focus Worsted. Ok, so not luxury and not exotic and definitely not melt your heart soft, but my favorite felting wool. This will be a pair of felted clogs that I must make before my husband threatens divorce. I made him a pair a couple of years ago and they are his favorite things EVER! Who knew they would be his all time favorite gift from me? He says I must make some for myself before it gets too cold, they will “change your life.” And, he wont have to hear my complain about my cold feet all winter.

Classic Elite Lush. Angora and wool and it is soft and cozy, the color rich and solid. This turning into a great beret. Just exactly how I wanted. I love knitting success!

What is inspiring you in your knitting?

