How do you prioritize what goes on the needles? Most of the time I find myself caught unaware by birthdays, baby showers and major holidays. They sneak up behind my back, and I often feel like I should be preparing something for that special someone, when in fact I am knitting something wonderful for myself. Ravelry, with its constant array of new patterns (and pages full of ones I have queued) doesn’t help the conundrum. At the beginning of May, we got some lovely Swans Island in the shop and I can’t stop touching it. Already a Purl Bee Bandana Cowl fell off the needles. There are some beautiful patterns put out by Swans Island too,- from long-term projects such as the Katherine Pullover or the Anna Cowlto quick knits perfect for last minute gifting, like the Earl Grey Mitts and the lovely Cirrus Cowl in Swan’s Island Fingering. You may want to knit several to squirrel away for when the occasion calls!  Swans Island is an organic yarn from Maine, and dyed using natural materials. It’s great for people who are environmentally-conscious and/or have allergy issues. The beautiful palette comes in three weights – fingering, worsted and bulky. Perfect to make something for yourself or someone else.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

