Wow 2 weeks till Christmas.
Now is the time to be finishing our handmade gifts and starting the ones that are quick and simple. It’s not too late to have a handmade holiday and I still have some great idea to share. I’m working on two Christmas stockings, the kids knitted toys, a couple hats and some scarves, I also have a few babe items waiting to get on some needles.
Baby gifts are a great gift anytime. But during winter you can get real fun. A ear flap hat with faux fur, a faux fur shawl collar, leg warmers, sweaters, cozy booties, and of course blankets are great.
We have so many great baby and kids books. My favorite isnatural nursery knits by Erika Knight. It’s fabulous. I’ve made a pair of booties from that book at least seven times. There is also a garter stitch blanket that’s so pretty. It has a beautiful old fashion edge. With baby goods fancy isn’t too important. It will most likely become a family heirloom and be loved for decades. I have three crocheted blankets from great Grandmothers, my Hubby has one, and Waylon has the last knitted blanket from his Great Grandma, Nonnie.
I think the most important requirement for baby knits is softness. (Maybe its a tie with machine washable)
Sometimes we pick expensive, fancy, unique yarns and sometimes we need a basic machine washable with great stitch definition, soft and fun colors. I have some great suggestions.
We also have two new books I can’t wait to try. knits for babies 0-18 months by Susie Haumann. One pattern in particular I have my eye on is the bib. So cute! The second book is both crochet and knit and has a lot to offer. comfort knitting & Crochet babies and toddlers by Norah Gaughan and Berroco design team. Bertie Bird is such a sweet pattern. It’s a toy bird and I heart it! Also the Havilland Blanket, yum!
We also carry the small Debbie bliss paperback books. There are classic and modern designs. We sell out often and the stules never get old (hence classic 😉) We carry Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino but have plenty of other fabulous washable yarns for knitting baby and kids garments and toys that you can substitute.

My list: Fabulous yarn for Bebé/ kids

1.Spud & Chloe
Yards:160
Fiber: 50 organic cotton/ 50 superwash merino
Price: $14.00
Why: this yarn has beautiful stitch definition, super soft ( more after knitting and even more after washing). The color way is both bright and neutral. With lime green, bright red, blues, grey, black and white there are choices for whom ever. (I’d suggest this yarn for everything I’ve made baby blankets, the knitted toys, and hats from this yarn. It would be perfect for cabling and seed stitch.

2.Encore
Yards: 200
Fiber: 75% acrylic/ 25% wool
Price: $6
Why: this yarn is also soooo soft. I just made slippers for my cousin Jesse (almost done with this pattern), the knitted horse for Ava. A hat for a friend, and a cowl. It’s machine wash and dry (though I never really recommend the dryer. It sucks life out of things.) this yarn come variegated and solid. Bright, dark, and neutral there really is a wide spectrum for this lines color way.

Baby Cashmerino:
Yardage: 137
Fiber: 55% merino/ 33% microfiber/ 12% cashmere
Price: $10.00
Why: this is a great super wash (don’t dry it! Just don’t) love the vintage-ish color way.

Koigu Kersti
Yardage:114
Fiber: 100% Merino
Price: $13.50
Why: *not machine washable* this yarn is awe-some! It’s fluffy, soft, fun and unique colors. There has been many baby items made with this yarn over the years. So good!

Eco Butterfly
Yardage:
Fiber:100% organic cotton
Price:$9.50
Why: my kids each have blankies knit with this yarn. It gets better over time. Softer, cozier, Mmm just better. Both kids sleep with their blankies. It’s not spin like most cotton. Which makes it a bit more pilly. I don’t mind it and it seems to “go away” after some wear. Highly recommend this one.

Happy knitting!
xx
Ash

