This was a very exciting thing for me. I have always been interested in fashion and fashion design. Lately I have been crushing on the Isager yarns and Amimono style of Helga Isager. I was over the moon excited when she agreed to do an interview for me!
Helga’s designs are amazing and inspiring. So excited to share the interview.
Enjoy!!
xx
Ash
20130322-085232.jpg

Ash: You have been designing Amimono since 2005, when did you decide/ start to design?

Helga Isager: When I look back I have always been a knitwear designer, but it took me some years and quite a few detours to realize it. Finally in 2003 I tried to get accepted at the Danish Design School, but had no luck, so I decided to start my own company. In retrospect that was a very haphazard move. I learned things the hard way, but I wouldn’t have been without these experiences.

A:Did you always want to design knitwear?

HI: No, definitely not. When I was younger I couldn’t think of anything I least wanted to do.

A: Your Mother is also a knitwear/ yarn designer was there a lot of pressure to have a completely different look? Or was it natural?

HI: I think the difference is very natural and unavoidable. We’re from different generations and have different perspectives on fashion. But it’s interesting how much the outcome differs even though we use many of the same techniques and the same yarns.

A: Who inspires you? Music? Artist? Designers? Authors?

HI: I’m inspired by lots of things. Cool people on the street, films, fashion designers and artists. At the moment I’m working on a collection (The Map Collection) inspired by landscape photos taken from above. In knit design you usually repeat the same pattern. I have wanted to work with patterns and materials on a more abstract level for a long time. I would like to think of the sweater as a canvas on which I can ‘draw’ with stitches in a more free hand.
In aerial photos you often observe different structures, unpredictable patterns and colors clash, and I find this order in chaos very inspiring.

A: What most influenced the bird/ little bird and home collections?

HI: In the Bird Collection I worked with different shapes of sleeves, and some of them reminded me of wings – that’s why I gave all styles bird names.
The colors and forms of the Belgian artist Pierre Alechinsky’s paintings inspired The Home Collection. I’m fascinated by his way of using colors. He always uses one or two colors, which don’t match the rest. I love this unpredictability.

A: In the craft world we seem to collect hobbies, cooking, baking, sewing, crochet, what are your favorites?

HI: I make a strong point of cooking healthy food everyday, but beside that my work doesn’t leave me much spare time for hobbies.
I love to knit even though it’s my job, so naturally I always have a knitting project close at hand.

A: What is the most beautiful place your designs have brought you?

HI: I have been teaching knitting several times in Iceland. I can’t think of a more beautiful place. The landscape is magnificent and untouched by human hands and the natural colors are just beautiful.

A:What’s your best advice for nurturing your creativity and family?

HI: Take a vacation on your own or with your best friend, once in a while. It makes you a better mother/wife when you come back.

A: What’s on your iPod now?

HI: The Norwegian artist Ane Brun is one my favorites at the moment. Love her music!

A: What, in your career, are you most proud of?

HI: Luckily I’m always most proud of my latest collection.

A: If you could have one super power what would it be?

HI: I never thought about that. But being able to do several things at the same time would be fantastic. So maybe a cloning ability would come in handy. So many things to do and so little time to do it.

A: If you could live anywhere in the world… Where and what time of year?

HI: I actually feel quite privileged to live in Denmark – In Copenhagen and in Northern Jutland, where we just bought a little farm. I have plans of spending more time there. My husband is a documentary filmmaker, so he travels all over the world. Because of my work I’m free to go with him sometimes. He’s planning to make another film in Japan and we’re thinking about living there for a period of time. I love Tokyo!

A: What are your favorite fibers to work with? What’s your favorite Isager yarn?

HI: I only work with natural fibers and like to work with all Isager yarns, but my favorites at the moment are Spinni and Alpaca – especially knitted together. It makes a very light and still durable material.

A: How old were you when you began knitting?

HI: My grandmother taught me how to knit when I was 7 years old, but at that time I didn’t really have the patience for it. My obsession with knitting started in high school. I lived far out in the countryside – far away from fancy shops – and I realized that I could make some pretty cool designs with a little help from my mother. It was in the nineties, where no one else – except really old ladies – knitted, and my classmates thought it was weird that I spent my time on such an old fashioned hobby.

A. Do you have anything exciting coming up? Little Nordic Collection?

HI: I just released The Little Nordic Collection in Denmark. It’s a booklet with 10 designs for children, all inspired by the Swedish writer Astrid Lindgren’s fantastic universe.

A.What is your motto?

HI:The process is just as important as the outcome.

*Thank you so much to Helga for being so awesome and answering my questions*

