Who doesn’t like the smell of baked goods?! Warming up the house on a rainy day (or a sunny morning – like today) with some homemade scones or cookies?? There is something romantic about knitting while a delicious treat bakes in the oven.
Here is something yummy (and Wheat Free) to bake up for breakfast, brunch, or a carb fest… A friend adapted this for me a while back and I really can not get enough!
Mia’s Wheat-Free scones:
2 cups Bob’s Red Mill Oat Flour
1/3 cup sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
8 tablespoons unsalted butter, frozen
1/2 cup sour cream
1 large egg

*set the oven to 400

Mix the dry ingredients in a med bowl…. Cut butter into cubes and mix (with hands) into the flour.

Whisk egg and sour cream until smooth

Using a fork, stir sour cream mixture into flour mixture until large dough clumps form. Use your hands to press the dough against the bowl into a ball. (The dough will be sticky in places, and there may not seem to be enough liquid at first, but as you press, the dough will come together

Form a circle, sprinkle with sugar, and with a sharp knife cut into triangles

Bake 15 min until golden (pony boy!)

Cool… Not that I ever do – so yummy to pop a fresh (hot as a BBQ) scone into your mouth. Enjoy! And you can adapt the flour to regular flour or GF…
It’s been raining on and off – beautiful but wet.. so we have been inside baking, making forts and I’ve been trying to catch up on my knitting 😉
I am so excited about this!!! My nNecessary Cowl! This yarn is one i have been fantasizing about for a while now. I used one skein of the Shi Bui ‘Linen’ and two balls of the Grignasio ‘Takil’. The purple contrast yarn is what I had left over from Erika Knight’s Fat Fur Wool,from a pattern I made this week ….. (Soon to be shared) Its so pretty I want to keep it- but it’s a gift and will be well loved.
br />
20130409-231138.jpg
Happy Knitting! (and Baking!)
xx
Ash

*let me know how your scones turn out… And send me a photo of you in your cowl 😘Ashleigh.flint@rocketmail.com*<

