20130418-022925.jpg

My most favorite thing that the yarn shop provides is community. Some of my most regular customers are my very own junior high school teachers. One in particular I see weekly 😉 is my Kenilworth art teach Ms. Nabong Erinn Van der Meer.
Erinn is such an awesome person – with one of the fullest plates I’ve ever seen. When she isn’t teaching the local youth about Degas and the color wheel or helping her Hubby, Eric, run their gym, Redwood Empire Gymnastics or raising her own two boys (seriously this is one woman!) … She knits. And teaches her students to as well. She’s a true asset to our community – keeping on eye on our teenagers… And they like her!
Last year the kids “Yarn Bombed” Copperfields books for the Extra Yarn book signing. So awesome!!

20130418-024918.jpg

20130418-024923.jpg

20130418-025109.jpg
This year they need more yarn!
And since spring fever has sprung and we are all clearing out and organizing… Who wants to help? I love helping and encouraging people to knit, especially kids. The only requirement for this next exhibition is the knit pieces have to stretch to 31 1/2 inches around and they need the yarn by May 4th. Needles are appreciated too. (I have a bag of both to give)
I will be at the shop this Saturday and would happily collect anything you have to offer. The kids will be excited to see the goods, your stash will be more organized, and you are helping a cool art exhibit go up in Petaluma.
Big thank you to Erinn for being a positive force for young people in our community!
Happy yarn sharing!
xx
Ash

20130418-023504.jpg
Mac Barnett (Author of Extra Yarn) and Erinn checking out her yarn bombed VW Beetle
*all photos belong to So Sylvie*
*Kenilworth Colts logo from Kenilworth website*

