I love to write list a good list. I will call it a hobby. My favorite kind is a “bucket list”, checking things off is the best part- feeling accomplished.
My recent ’29 before 30′ list inspired me to ask: what makes me happy? What improves my quality of life? What do I love to do? (Besides write lists 😉)
Family, friends, exercise, – Yes I love it!, adventure, and crafting. Not solely these things … But these things for sure. Anyway before I had my daughter I started a knitting group. I basically recruited my friends and taught them to knit so we could have a knit night. (He he- I made my own knitting army!) Then we’d meet once a week at Knitterly and gab about life and kids and knit. I looked forward to it every week. And it was the for sure thing that got me to knit, out of the house, and time with my friends – sans kids.
Then life got “busy”. Ugh! What a lame excuse – my least favorite to be honest. I still hang out with my friends often but knitting is not on the repertoire and kids are usually present and demanding most of the attention. I don’t finish projects quickly – at all -these days and rarely have time to knit. Unless its the butt crack of dawn or late at night. It’s so important to not be “too busy” for life’s pleasures and to make time for people you love – who make you happy.
We have woman who have been coming to Tuesday Night at Knitterly for years. They sit and talk and knit and sometimes people don’t need much help – It’s more social, but its every week which makes it easier. Like going to a class at the gym, it’s harder to cancel when friends are counting on you to be there.
With social media like Ravelry, there are new friendships popping up in our shop. Regular customers who never previously met are finding each other on Ravelry and then meeting at Knitterly. One Saturday two regular customers came in, Knitterly, together. I knew them both and didn’t think much of it. They sat down on some cozy chairs and started pulling projects from their bags. Both woman were really excited, laughing and chatting. they stayed quite a while. Before they left they told me they had met in Ravelry!! What?! These two woman had definitely been in the shop at the same time over the years – and not even realized! They met on Ravelry, shared the same LYS (local yarn shop) Knitterly and decided they should me in person. Loved it! They had started a friendship based on a mutual love for knitting and Knitterly.
I recently had a birthday (29 thank you! It’s going to be awesome!) I made a “29 before 30” list, 29 things to do before 30.
“#28. Start knitting night again” is definitely worth going on the list and definitely worth making time for. It’s also an excuse to have a ladies night regularly! A time separate from my- awesome munchkins, to just be Ash.
I highly recommend starting your own knitting group. If you don’t have a knitting venue, every Tuesday we have “Tuesday Night” it’s a semi class. For $10 you basically get the ‘backstage pass’. The shop is open 6:30-8:30 and there are teachers to help if you need, supplies for sale and a pretty great atmosphere for a knitting group.
My dear friend, Kit, who has had her knitting group for years gets together with her friends every Wednesday to knit. Every week they rotate someone’s house. I love this! The host makes snacks and drinks – its like a mini knitting party, every week!

If you have friends who knit start a knitting group and rotate houses, meet at Knitterly (there are chairs all over and you are welcome to knit in the shop anytime), hang at a coffee shop. I think knitting should be a prescription for good health. So I’m writing one for you..

20130525-042528.jpg
xx
Ash

